Vegan Chocolate Mousse

Many vegans have discovered the tasty whipped cream in a can made by Soyatoo.  It’s pretty good on desserts, although it loses its fluff quickly.  I recently picked up a little box of whippable cream by the same company, and decided to make chocolate mousse. 

It turned out pretty delicious, although I would make a little change next time.  I started by melting 8 oz of chocolate (yes, half a pound.  I used Trader Joe’s “Pound Plus” 72% dark chocolate).  Meanwhile, I whipped up the cream with the contents of about half a vanilla bean (it’s fine to use extract, or leave it out altogether).  It took about 4 or 5 minutes on high to get it whipped up really well in the kitchenaid.  I’m not sure if I would attempt it without an electric mixer.

I folded the whipped cream into the chocolate–here’s where I would make a change.  I was worried that the cream wouldn’t be very stable, so I let the chocolate cool down considerably.  It turned out the cream was quite stable, and the cooler chocolate hardened into very tiny chunks in the cream.  Anyway, I continued folding in the cream bit by bit (folding means gently scooping up the bottom of the bowl with a spatula and laying it on top over and over to break the fewest air bubbles).  I served it in some martini glasses with a bit of shaved chocolate on top.

I think this is definitely something I will make again, and work into some other pastry/cake recipes in the future!

Mousse

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vegan Chocolate Mousse

  1. Lake Desire says:

    Yum! I’m glad the Soyatoo boxed whipped cream worked for you. I’m in Seattle this week (I’d love to see you!) and want to pick some up myself.

Leave a Reply

